In order to register a car in the state of Arizona, you must complete a number of steps and provide specific documentation.
The process of registering a car can be confusing and time consuming. You may not know What Do You Need To Register A Car In Az? or where to start.
Amortips has put together a comprehensive guide that will walk you through each step of the process. We have also compiled a list of all the required documents so you can be prepared ahead of time. Let us help make registering your car easy and hassle free.
In order to register your car in Arizona you need:
The vehicle you are registering (must have a 17-digit VIN number). Liability insurance information. Payment for registration fees and taxes.
With the exception of a few counties, all people in the Phoenix and Tucson region are obliged to have all automobiles 1967 or newer pass an emissions test. There are several exceptions, such as modern automobiles that are less than six years old. An emissions testing expert will connect to the internal computer in your car, which monitors the emission control system and its performance. The majority of tests last less than 20 minutes and cost less than $20.
All operational motor vehicles in Arizona are required to be covered by liability insurance through licensed companies. The following is a list of the minimum amounts of coverage that are needed: $15,000 bodily injury for one person and $30,000 for two or more people, as well as $10,000 property damage liability.
When you turn in your application for an Arizona title and registration, you must give up your out-of-state title and registration. If a loan has been recorded against the vehicle and the lender is located in another state, you will still need to register the car, but you may not need the title.
If there is a lien on the car, you need to have the following information: Lienholder name and address, as well as the loan account number, date of the loan and the outstanding balance.Payment.When you arrive at an Arizona MVD office or authorized third-party provider, they will require full payment for all taxes and fees. They accept cash, check or money order. You can also use your credit card at some locations.
The application must be signed by all owners listed on the title. If the vehicle is new and has never been titled, the signature of the dealer is also required.
Notarized Bill of Sale (if applicable).
If you have purchased the car from a private party, you need to provide a notarized bill of sale that includes the following information: buyer and seller name and address, vehicle identification number, date of sale, selling price and the signatures of both parties.
Odometer Disclosure Statement (if applicable).
If the car is less than 10 years old, you will need to provide an odometer reading.
It’s not simply a good idea to register your automobile in Arizona; it’s the law. When you acquire a vehicle in Arizona, you have 15 days to apply for title and registration, according to Arizona law.
If you have just relocated to Arizona, you will need to get Arizona automobile registration after you have established residence.
You may prove ownership by registering your vehicle in Arizona. Consider being pulled over and being asked for your license and registration. Registration also includes payments for driving your automobile.
When it comes to automobile registration in Arizona, there are two options.
You buy a new or previously used automobile.
You relocated from another state to Arizona.
When you purchase a new automobile, the dealership may handle the registration. You may need to file for a title transfer if you acquire a secondhand automobile from a private party.
According to the Arizona Department of Transportation (AZDOT), “eTitle Transfer enables eligible sellers and purchasers to electronically transfer automobile ownership.” Customers may finish the procedure without visiting an MVD office by using a secure online system.”
Another alternative is for the buyer to contact the MVD Office or an Authorized Third Party supplier and present both a signed off title and a title application.
You may be charged a title transfer penalty fee if you do not finish the Arizona automobile registration procedure within 15 days. The late registration cost is $8, plus $4 for each month it is late after that.
If you have purchased a new automobile in Arizona, keep in mind that you have 15 days to finish the registration procedure.
To finish Arizona automobile registration, if you purchased a car and need to transfer your title:
If you relocated to Arizona from another state, the procedure for Arizona automobile registration is somewhat different. Here are the next steps to take, as well as some items you’ll need:
After establishing residence in Arizona, you will be needed to register a vehicle. If you live and work in Arizona, remain in Arizona for seven months or more, or have a kid in an Arizona school, you are considered a resident. If you are awaiting papers to begin your Arizona automobile registration, you may apply for a 90-day registration for $15 while you wait.
You may renew your Arizona automobile registration online if you need to. “All registration documentation and license plate tabs are sent and no longer produced in MVD or Authorized Third Party locations,” according to the AZDOT website. When you renew, your record is quickly updated, and your receipt serves as evidence of registration.”
Residents of Arizona who have already registered their automobiles with the MVD may renew online at https://servicearizona.com/.
To complete an online renewal Keep your renewal slip available since you’ll need to input your record number as well as the last two digits of your Vehicle ID Number. If you don’t have it, you may put your license plate number, VIN, or last name in its place. Following that, you must check that your address is valid and that the car is insured.
If your car is uninsured, you will have the choice of keeping it that way or removing the de-insured status by purchasing insurance. De-insured vehicles are not permitted to operate on any public route in Arizona and will not be restored unless evidence of insurance is produced. After that, you must input your vehicle information and validate the data, as well as the renewal term, examine the charge itemization, enter your payment information, and print or email your confirmation.
A registration charge of $4.50, $8.00, or $9.00 will be applied based on the kind of vehicle, plus an air quality compliance fee of $0.25 will be imposed depending on where the vehicle will be used, and lastly a vehicle license tax (VLT) will be computed (VLT takes the place of a personal property tax that is often applied in other states). The vehicle license tax is calculated using 60% of the car’s MSRP and is lowered by 16.25% for each year from the original registration. For each $100 of value, the rate is computed as $2.80 for new automobiles and $2.89 for used vehicles.
Registering your vehicle in Arizona must be done in person at the state’s Motor Vehicle Department (MVD). If you just moved to Arizona, then you have to register your car as soon as possible after establishing residency. The requirements for being considered a resident of Arizona are: … You possess an Arizona driver’s license.
No. All vehicles registered in Arizona must be insured by a company that is licensed to do business in the state.
Approved documents are:
A genuine identification card or driver’s license from the state of Arizona, a valid identification card or driver’s license from any other state, and motor vehicle documents such as a motor vehicle registration are all required. A real estate deed or mortgage papers are necessary. Bill for property taxes (most recent) ,
To title and register an out-of-state car, you’ll need an out-of-state title (or registration if the title is held by a lienholder) and, if appropriate, a lien clearance. If necessary, an emission test compliance document (Phoenix and Tucson only).
If you are new to Arizona and need to register your car, there are a few things you will need. First, make sure you have the title of the car in hand. You will also need proof of insurance, a driver’s license, and registration fees. Once you have all of these items together, visit your local MVD office and they will help get you registered quickly and easily. Have any other questions about registering a car in Arizona? Let us know in the comments below!
registering a vehicle in arizona from out-of-state
do you need a license to register a car in az
how much does it cost to register an out of-state car in arizona
arizona vehicle registration cost calculator
why is arizona vehicle registration so expensive
arizona title and registration application
moving to arizona car registration
how do i check the status of my vehicle registration in arizona